How I Tell Myself to Write and Then End Up Not Writing: A Life Story

Earlier this year, I confidently announced my New Year’s Resolutions, one of which was to write more for WordPress.

As you can see, I have been failing miserably.

And I can’t use school as an excuse anymore, because if I have time to rewatch the entirety of White Collar, while still keeping up with my work and responsibilities, I definitely have time to write.

I’ve been reading a lot of different writers lately and their process of writing–having a writer’s nook, writing at a specific time of day, doing little pieces of writing instead of a long-form project–and I think, “Wow, I’m so inspired! I can definitely emulate this in my daily life!” Then, it inevitably falls flat in my face.

So what exactly am I doing wrong?

That’s the question yet to be answered. Because I know I like writing. I like the challenge of articulating my thoughts in a cohesive way. I like sharing my words and hope that other people get something from them. I like fonts a lot.

But when it comes to writing, the physical pen-to-paper or fingers-to-keyboard, I’m met with much reluctance from myself. I’ll make excuses that I’ll do it tomorrow when I’m less tired or another day when I’m more inspired. I’ll say that my room is too dark for me to write effectively, or the environment around me is hindering my creativity.

I’m just “not in the mood for it.”

And I find myself saying this over and over again, even though I love writing, I really do. And I’m not sure what I should change about my approach to rectify this lack-of-writing that happens.

After all, how can you call yourself a writer and not have any work to show for it?

So I vow to myself (even though it was my New Year’s resolution, but that’s besides the point), to write more. To stop making excuses. To be in the mood. To just write.

Someone gave me good advice the other day as I talked about my tendency to start and stop projects without actually finishing them (writing is already hard and reading your own work back when it’s at such an early draft state and trying to resist the urge to not scrap it is even harder): “Just let your work suck.”

See the bad writing through, but eventually, it’ll be done and editing begins.

So that’s what I’m going to do.

Leave a Reply

