July 2016 in Pictures

Okay, I know. I didn’t post much this past month.

I’ve been in a reading slump, which I get every so often after binge-reading a ton of books. It was inevitable, but not so great for my creativity, since I’m usually heavily inspired by what I’m reading at the time (fun fact, “Passionate” was inspired by Aristotle and Dante). Also, I started my summer job this month, which actually ends in a week, and then I’m off to college for my second year. Yeah. How can summer be both such a fast, yet slow, few months?

Many apologies for taking a long break from writing, though I can’t promise that posting will be regular again, since college will undoubtedly be a stressful time and doing creative writing that I would want to share will be rare. (Callback to what I wrote in my first post, about the trouble of consistently keeping up with new things. It’s a real struggle.)

Regardless, here’s how my month panned out in a few pictures. There were many good times, though looking back at it now, many bad times as well. Like, more bad times than usual. But thankfully, all is well now and there is no photographic evidence of those times.

July 6th: 5:31 AM @ Home, Brooklyn, NY

july-in-pictures1
Here’s the view at 5:31 am from my window. It overlooks my backyard and the house across from mine. A very Brooklyn view, complete with the barely visible sun and telephone pole and wires.

My July 4th weekend was pretty…awful, to say the least. I was feeling a lot of anxiety in those few days and wasn’t really up for the festivities, so I spent a lot of the time reading or binge-watching Netflix shows.

But the night of July 5th was one of those rare, really good nights, the ones where I’m wide awake and calm and at peace. I don’t really remember what I did that night, probably finished catching up on The Fosters and journaled a bit, but I was just so content and my mind wasn’t threatening to go into attack mode. I cherish those moments, so I stayed up as long as I could.

July 15th: Alessia Cara & Troye Sivan @ Villain, Brooklyn, NY

july-in-pictures2

july-in-pictures3

Troye Sivan and Alessia Cara are two of my favorite music artists.

Alessia’s EP, Know-It-All, brings me back to fall semester of freshman year. I listened to it a lot. It’s just so fun and chill, and I actually loved putting it on as background music when I was about to take a quick 20-minute nap. Every time I listen to I’m Yours, I’m still reminded of soundless sleep, in addition to love and crushes and all that jazz.

And Troye’s masterpiece of an album, Blue Neighbourhood, is one of my all-time favorites. I listen to it constantly, but especially during spring semester of freshman year. It was the album I listened to to calm myself down, during my anxious times and my angry times. I could always depend on it making me happy.

Seeing them together was such an amazing experience, even if the concert was short and took place in a warehouse in Williamsburg that had no air conditioner and I was surrounded by obsessed fans who probably knew Troye and Alessia’s blood type, while I barely know their birthdays. But I loved it. I laughed, I cried, I sweated, and I just have so much love for these two.

July 22nd: Nose Piercing @ Pure Body Arts, New York, NY

july-in-pictures4This was actually taken at a froyo shop after I got the piercing, but still.

I don’t know if you can clearly see the tiny lil stud on my nose, but I finally got my nose pierced! I remember when I was 15, I told my friend about how cool I thought nose piercings were and how I really wanted one, but I didn’t want to get in trouble with my parents. So I never really thought I would go through with it.

Fast forward three years, I have my nose pierced and my parents are 100% fine with it. It’s a win-win.

July 31st: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Release @ Strand, New York, NY

july-in-pictures6This was actually taken in my bedroom, but I love Strand too much to not mention them.

Harry Potter means a lot to me, though I did get into the hype pretty late. When I was in 8th grade and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 just came out, my friend was telling me about how she went to the midnight premiere for the movie. She was just so excited about it and kept pushing me to read it, so like the good friend I am (and so I can stay on trend and know what everyone was talking about), I did. And I was immediately hooked.

I blew through the books so quickly, I made my little brother read them, I watched all of the movies, I made a Harry Potter fandom blog (what a #throwback), I went to the NYC and midnight premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, I pulled all-nighters for Pottermore, I begged my parents to take me to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter…needless to say, it’s been quite a journey.

So, on the insanely rainy day of July 31st, I trudged to Strand and picked up this book, in honor of Harry and J.K. Rowling’s birthday. And though I don’t have high hopes for this book—I mean, it’s not written by Rowling and it’s a screenplay and Deathly Hallows remains the perfect ending—I needed to get it so I can add it to my evergrowing Harry Potter collection. #JustRavenclawThings

6 thoughts on “July 2016 in Pictures

  1. Love this kind of post! We seem to have a lot in common, I adore Troye Sivan and Harry Potter! Check out my blog i’ve written posts about both of them lol.

  2. Troye & Alessia are so amazing!! And thank you so much for all the kind words and encouragement. Also so good to see how consistent you’ve been with your writing, it’s honestly inspiring.

  3. I like your view, don’t ask me why, but it’s kinda… beautiful.
    Sorry to hear your 4th of July weekend didn’t go so well. We all have those days! And your July 5th night sounds amazing… 
    You saw Alessia and Troye?? That’s so awesome!! I recently discovered Alessia, but my best friend and I have been gushing over Troye for, well, forever. 😁
    You look amazing too! (I love your hair.)
    I hope you can find some new books to enjoy! 😊

  4. Welcome back! It’s okay to take a hiatus from blogging every now and then especially when you’re busy. I have done it a bunch of times and usually come back feeling refreshed. It sounds like you are having a wonderful summer! I really enjoyed your pics. I will have to listen to Troy Sivan’s album. I think I have only heard his one song. Thanks for telling me about it.
    Also, the nose piercing is super cute! I hope you will have an amazing rest of your summer!!! xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

