June 2016 in Pictures

Like every other month, this June passed by quick. It was my first full month of summer break, so it was mostly spent chilling and trying to not think about upcoming responsibilities that come with the fall. A lot of my time was spent doing my favorite things: reading (see: Goodreads), hanging out with friends, and doing other random miscellaneous things. So there aren’t many pictures because 1) I forgot to take any, and 2) the things I usually do are average as hell. But here’s what ensued:

June 4th: Years & Years – Gov Ball After Dark @ Webster Hall, New York, NY

june-in-pictures1

Years & Years is one of my favorite bands, and I missed their fall tour because I was away for college. When I saw that they were playing the day after their Governor’s Ball set, I bought tickets so quick to finally fulfill my dream of seeing them live.

They were so much fun, and I literally couldn’t stop smiling throughout the entire thing. All three of them just love what they do, and Olly, the lead singer, is so comfortable being himself, it was just so inspiring. I sang along, I cried at one point, and it was such a good night.

June 7th: Beyoncé – Formation World Tour @ Citi Field, Queens, NY

june-in-pictures2

Listen, no one can put on a show like Beyoncé can. This was my first time seeing her live, and it was such an amazing experience. I’ve been to many concerts before, and her show really is top-notch. Every moment was entertaining, from the actual performances to the interludes. Her singing, her dancing, and the visuals were all mesmerizing, and it was an unforgettable night.

She brought back many old songs, while still covering a majority of Lemonade, and the transitions between all of them were so smooth. It was a concert about empowerment, and man, did I feel powerful.

I spent the entire concert standing on my seat that had a “do not stand on” sign on it, because I didn’t have a good enough view while standing on the ground. It was two hours of standing on an unsteady seat, and I could’ve fallen and broken something, but it would have been worth it.

June 26th: NYC Pride @ New York, NY

june-in-pictures3Taken by @agreeablestrangers

My friend, Hayley (on the right), and I went to Pride together this year. This was my second Pride, and it remains one of my favorite things the city has to offer.

I’m not going to lie, I was a bit nervous going this year, because of what happened in Orlando. But this is the time to join up with the community and support each other and to not let evils stop us from being who we are. And that’s exactly what this year’s Pride was about. It was about honoring the victims and coming back stronger than before. To stand together.

Pride has such an amazing vibe, where everyone is so happy with being themselves (hence the lip colors and subtle rainbows under my eyes to join in with the fun Pride looks). The energy was infectious, and there really isn’t anything else like it.

One thought on “June 2016 in Pictures

Leave a Reply

